Design Awards 2017

Each year the York Design Awards seek to celebrate the very best in new buildings, restoration projects and newly-created public open spaces in York.  Awards are given in 8 categories:

  • large commercial project
  • small commercial project
  • small community project
  • large community project
  • small residential development
  • large residential development
  • conservation and/or restoration
  • open space

In 2017 there are 35 entries.  A team of 4 architects spent a week at the end of April in York, led by former Civic Trust director Peter Brown MBE, looking at the entries.  “We’ve seen two flower beds at one end of the scale and a housing estate of 150 houses at the other” said the chief judge.   The judges were also struck by the fact that everybody felt they were a part of York, the advantage of being in a smaller city.

See the York Press of 27 April 2017, page 18